Lafayette Community Council

The Lafayette Community Council is comprised of local leaders who wish to provide support and awareness in preparing for the new campus to serve the Lamorinda community.


Chair, Lafayette Community Council

Don is a Cancer Support Community member and Lafayette resident. In 2018, Don was named Lafayette’s Citizen of the Year. His generous spirit and energy has led him to support many of Lamorinda’s great projects including the California Shakespeare Festival and Lafayette Library and Learning Center. Don is an avid Rotarian (Lamorinda Sunrise), where he served as both president and national advisor to the Rotary Foundation.

Current Lafayette Community Council members:

Brandt Andersson – Law Offices of Andersson & Andersson; Former City Council Member

Diane Barbera-De Lany – VP, DND Development & Consulting Inc.; CSC member

Larry Blodgett – Owner, Blodgett’s Abbey Carpet and Flooring

David Bohne and Thomas Bye – University and Local Philanthropists

Conrad and Joan Breece – President, Lamorinda Sunrise Rotary

Mark Carlton – Owner, Notes4Hope

Judy Carney – Founder, Lafayette Community Foundation

Janet and Rick Cronk – Philanthropists; Lafayette Citizens of the Year (2020)

Katherine Dureault – Generational City of Lafayette resident; CSC member

Norma Evans – Lafayette Citizen of the Year (2000)

John Fazel – Lamorinda Sunrise Rotary; Lamorinda Trail Council

Lamont Gilbert – Senior Consultant, CSAA Leadership & Executive Development (retired)

Anne Grodin – Former Mayor, City of Lafayette (1994-98)

Dick and Robin Holt – Lafayette Citizens of the Year (2017)

James Hood, MD – Thoracic Surgeon, Kaiser Permanente

Erling Horn – Former Mayor, City of Lafayette (1995)

Chris Laszcz-Davis – Chair, Lamorinda Presents; Lamorinda Rotary Club Member

Beth McClelland – Owner, Lamorinda Financial Planning; CSC member

John McCormick – Co-owner, Lamorinda Music; Chair, Lafayette Chamber Board

Kathy Merchant – Former Executive Director, Lafayette Library and Learning Center Foundation

Tom and Karen Mulvaney – Philanthropists; Lafayette Library and Learning Center

Jennifer Perlmutter – Owner, Jennifer Perlmutter Gallery; Lafayette Business Person of the Year (2020)

Dean Powell – Realtor, Dean Powell Homes, Keller Williams

Sandy Preto – Owner and Founder, Notes4Hope

Christine Raymond, Owner, Lafayette Social Magazine

Jennifer Rosen – Pharmacy Quality Improvement; CSC member

Jeff Rosenthal – Co-CEO and Founder, ProjectNext Leadership

Matt Shriner – Owner, BrightStar Healthcare

Carol Singer – VP, Lafayette Homeowners Council; General Plan Advisory Committee

Frances Sticha – Owner, Succulent Propagator

Nick Theophanous – Theophanous Structural Engineers; AVHA

John Thuma – VP Financial Consultant, Charles Schwab (retired); CSC Board Member

Rachel Zinn – Former Superintendent, Lafayette School District

The Community Council’s primary role will include to:

  • Publicly endorse Cancer Support Community’s Lafayette campus
  • Collect endorsement signature cards from other community members
  • Share information about Cancer Support Community Lafayette with community members
  • Encourage community members to attend property tours and informational meetings

If they wish, Community Council members may also engage in the following activities:

  • Host community information meetings
  • Attend public hearings and speak on behalf of the project
  • Participate in project planning and update meetings with Cancer Support Community staff and board
  • Identify other community leaders to serve on the Community Council

For more information about the Lafayette Community Council, please contact Libby Eppinga, Director of Philanthropy, at 925.953.1216.